数字化与地下采矿和隧道行业有多大关系

2022年7月13日

数字化与地下采矿和隧道行业有多大关系

以工程师的方式,对这个问题的诚实回答是:虽然我不能量化相关的确切百分比,但我可以说数字化关系重大,现在如此,将来更是如此。

地下采矿和隧道行业正处于转型阶段,例如,采矿行业正在通过实现设备的远程控制进行数字化。我们已经知道如何确定数字解决方案的需求,如何利用收集的数据,这是客户所欣赏的。然而,人们对数字化的理解通常只停留在一般水平。

 

数字化是一个积跬步至千里的过程

当一家公司要求一个大而无限的“数字化”概念,而不是通过增加自主性将某个过程某个阶段的效率提高x倍时,这很难开始,更难以确切地说出数字化将如何或在何种程度上使客户受益。在实践中,挑战在于展示如何解决足够小的问题和运营挑战,以提供可识别的附加值。如果数字化包太大,数字化项目要解决的挑战很容易变复杂,这完全不必要,或者需要太长时间来管理一个项目。

要做大事,您必须先迈出一小步。这是数字化进程最有效的方式。

地下采矿和隧道设备是智能设备

采矿行业称不上是数字化的先行者。挪曼尔特在这方面处于全球领先地位,尽管设备及其智能功能已经非常完善,但整个行业仍处于利用数据的早期阶段。

总体来说,挪曼尔特认为采矿行业的数字化是一项意义重大的发展,我们正在大力投资。虽然在一般层面上,并不能够总是量化数据和数字化所能实现的目标:确切的百分比、生产过程在哪个领域和哪个时间段会变得更高效、安全性会如何提高或排放会如何减少,但可以利用数字化的优势来解决客户特定的挑战,例如连接性。要解决的问题可能因客户或生产节点的不同而有很大差异。

我们深信,商业价值是由更高的生产率、更可持续的运营和更好的安全性推动的。通过高质量的服务运营来兑现我们的承诺,从而提高客户满意度。这听起来很简单,当我们在挪曼尔特规划数字发展时,一切都可以与这些核心主题联系起来。在制定发展决策时,我们总是希望了解影响是什么,以及如何支持客户的业务目标。

随着时间的推移,不断积累数据和确认结果

有些结果要到几年后才能看到,那时我们已经积累了足够的数据并在运营中充分体现,例如通过简化各个工艺阶段,或通过改进工作方法使其更加安全。当然,现在已经可以看到一些成果,例如,在电气化设备的能源节约方面,或者在工作时间的节约方面,以及由于远程监控而预测故障的能力方面。从长远来看,收集和处理数据后,将会发现更多利用数据的可能性。

地下作业具有其他工业部门可能不会遇到的特殊性。矿井越来越深,并且位于难以到达的地方。基础设施设计和所有作业因素都更加复杂。例如,在地下矿井中,必需要考虑电气化设备如何充电,充电器和电池应该放在哪里,以及如何保证工人的安全。

技术革命的三大主题

我认为,正在进行的技术革命有三大主题:

  1. 电气化
  2. 自主操作
  3. 数字化、数据收集和积累数据的利用

另一个重要主题是可持续性,这非常重要,并且与上述主题都有关系。

数字世界以数据为中心。没有数据,创新几乎是不可能的。考虑一下自动驾驶汽车。如果不从它们那里收集数据,它们实际上就不存在。因此,近年来的许多举措都侧重于获取数据并使其可用和可理解。许多现有系统已经拥有大量数据,但它们就像一座孤岛一样,并没有得到充分利用。

许多工艺流程可以提供更深刻的见解

当前的许多工作方式都不支持有意义和有用的数据收集。例如,在互联设备方面也取得了很大进步。物联网(IoT)并不是什么新鲜事物,但在互联设备的世界中,不同的行业有不同的成熟度。

重要的是要认识到发展数字基础和能力需要时间。但在这个过程中,太容易被技术功能、光鲜亮丽的新产品所吸引。必须提醒自己为什么要开发这些新的创新,以及我们想用它们实现什么目标,这样才能健康发展。

我们关注的是产出还是结果?

产出和结果都需要,但产出只是实现结果所需的行动。以互联设备为例,从机器中获取数据只是所需的其中一项产出。但是,无论期望的结果是提高过程效率,更高效的运营,还是提高安全性,需要采取的行动可能完全不同。

清晰的结果和目标有助于我们走在正确的道路上,并将我们的发展活动集中在正确的主题上。数据是成功的关键。我们需要收集正确类型的信息,并能够使其可用和可理解,以便真正惠及我们的客户。我们只需要把注意力集中在最重要的问题上。

简介

Pekka Jaarinen是挪曼尔特集团的数字服务总监。

Jaarinen在数字化领域拥有超过20年的专业经验,担任过各种职务。他热衷于开发服务,推动工业组织的变革。在过去十年间,他一直从事物联网和数据驱动型服务方面的工作。他于2021年加入挪曼尔特,负责领导挪曼尔特数字服务开发,包括互联设备、数据洞察、数字客户和现场服务。

Pekka Jaarinen - 领英档案

订阅新闻简讯

How relevant is digitalisation to the underground mining and tunnelling industry

How relevant is digitalisation to the underground mining and tunnelling industry

In an honest and engineer-type way, the answer to this question is: While I can’t quantify to what exact percentage point of relevance, I can say that digitalisation is very relevant, now and even more so in the future.

The underground mining and tunnelling industry are in a state of transition, and digitalisation is underway in the mining industry, for example, through enabling the remote control of equipment. We already know how to demand digital solutions and utilise the gathered data, which customers appreciate. However, digitalisation is often understood only on a general level.

 

Progress in digitalisation is best made by taking small, meaningful steps that count

When a company demands a big and unlimited concept of “digitalisation” instead of an increase in the efficiency of a certain stage of a certain process by a factor of x – for example by increasing autonomy – it is difficult to get started and even more difficult to say exactly how, or to what degree, digitalisation will benefit the customer. In practice, the challenge is to show how sufficiently small problems and operational challenges can be resolved in order to provide identifiable added value. If the digitisation package is too large, the challenges to be resolved by the digitisation project will easily become unnecessarily complicated or take too long to manage within one project.

To get something big moving, you have to take small steps first. This is how progress in digitalisation is made most effectively.

Underground mining and tunnelling equipment is smart

The mining industry cannot be described as a forerunner in digitalisation. Although the equipment and its smart features are already very good – Normet is among the global leaders in this regard – the industry as a whole is still in the early stages of utilising data.

On the whole, we at Normet consider the digitalisation of the mining industry to be a significant and important development in which we are investing heavily. While at the general level, it’s not always possible to quantify what can be achieved with data and digitalisation – exactly what percentage, in which areas and over what period the production process will become more efficient, how safety will improve, or emissions will decrease – it is possible to say that the benefits of digitalisation can be used to tackle customer-specific challenges, such as connectivity. The problems to be resolved can vary significantly between customers or production points.

We are convinced that business value is driven by increased productivity, more sustainable operations, and improved safety. Keeping our promises with high-quality service operations improves customer satisfaction. It sounds simple – everything can be linked to these core themes when we at Normet are planning digital development. When making development decisions, we always want to understand what the impact is and how to support the business objectives of our customers.

Data accumulated and results confirmed over time

Some results will not be available until years later, when sufficient data has been accumulated and fully utilised in operations, for example by streamlining the various process stages, or by improving working methods to make them even safer. Of course, some results can be seen already, for example, in terms of energy savings from electrified equipment, or savings in working time and the ability to anticipate faults thanks to remote monitoring. Over the longer term, once data has been collected and processed, even more possibilities for utilising data will be found.

Underground operations have special characteristics that may not be encountered in other industrial segments. Mines are getting deeper and are located in hard-to-reach places. Infrastructure design and all operational factors are more complex. It is necessary to consider, for example, how electrified equipment can be charged in an underground mine, where the chargers and batteries should be placed, and how the safety of workers can be guaranteed.

Three main themes of the technological revolution

I see three main themes related to the ongoing technological revolution:

  1. Electrification
  2. Autonomous operations
  3. Digitalisation, data collection, and the utilisation of accumulated data

Another major theme is sustainability, which is very important and is linked to all of the above.

The digital world revolves around data. Without data it is more or less impossible to innovate anything new. Consider autonomous vehicles. If data was not collected from them, they would not exist in practice. Therefore, many of the initiatives in recent years have focused on getting the data and making it usable and understandable. Many existing systems already contain a lot of data, but they are isolated islands and not being utilised fully.

Many processes could provide much deeper insights

Many of the current ways of working do not support meaningful and useful data collection. There has also been a lot of progress, for example, in connected equipment. The Internet of Things (IoT) is nothing new, but different industries are at different maturity levels in the world of connected devices.

It is important to realise that developing digital foundations and capabilities takes time. But during the process, it is too easy to get caught up by technical features, flashing lights, and shiny new products. It is healthy, but also mandatory to remind yourself why these new innovations are being developed and what we want to achieve with them.

Are we focusing on the outputs or outcomes?

Both outputs and outcomes are needed, but output is only the action needed to achieve the outcomes. To use the connected equipment example, getting data out of a machine is only one of the outputs required. But whether the desired outcome is increased process efficiency, more efficient operations, or improved safety, the actions needed may be completely different.

Clarity regarding the outcome and goals, helps keep us on the right path and focus our development activities on the right topics. Data is the key for success. We need to collect the right kind of information and be able to make it usable and understandable so that it really benefits our customers. We just have to keep our focus on the most important issues.

BIO

Pekka Jaarinen is the Director of Digital Services at Normet Group.

Jaarinen has over 20 years of expertise in digitalisation in a variety of roles. He is passionate about developing services driving change in industrial organisations. For the past decade he has been working with IoT and data-driven services. He joined Normet in 2021 and is leading Normet digital services development which covers connected equipment, data insights, digital customer, and field services.

Pekka Jaarinen - Linkedin Profile

Subscribe to newsletter