向打造零碳隧道迈进

2022年5月5日

向打造零碳隧道迈进

尽管《巴黎协定》设定了任务艰巨的时间表,但如果能够实施正确的解决方案,零碳隧道是可以实现的。

隧道行业当下正处于一个转折点,可持续性和去碳化是业内高管们的首要议程。为了在2050年以前实现1.5°c气候变化的目标,隧道行业需要减少直接CO2排放量,直至实现净零排放。

目前很少有国家或基础设施项目能够做到“言出必行”,主动减少碳排放。或许挪威可以称作是这方面的带头国家。正如其境内的电动汽车市场一样,挪威正越来越多地采用电力驱动的建筑设备,其主要城市更自豪地宣称将在2025年之前实现碳中和建设。除挪威以外,欧洲的一些其他国家和项目也正在建立至少是理想性的碳减排目标,但是他们通常只关注于低碳混凝土混合物的开发。

隧道行业在全球CO2排放量中占有相当的比重,因此在减少碳排放方面发挥着重要作用。该行业正面临着来自政策制定者、投资者和客户越来越大的去碳化运营压力。

作出修建一条新隧道的决策后,高明的设计加上关注碳排放的高效建设将最终降低项目成本。

虽然有些人认为低碳隧道建设等同于更高的项目成本,但目前建筑业碳排放管理的最佳实践表明,情况并非如此。贯穿项目生命周期的整体性方法,加上注重碳节约的工程师,这样的组合能够在本质上为整体项目带来成本的节约!这绝对是PAS 2080基础设施碳排放管理方法背后的精神,对于热衷于去碳化的人们来说,非常值得在项目中采用。

鉴于这份日益增长的野心和对去碳化的需求,我的个人主张为:高明建造,高效建造,终生建造——这三个关键方面将加快去碳化方向上的努力进程,并大大推动实现1.5℃气候变化的目标。

高明建造 - 从创新与精心的设计开始

隧道项目中最大的去碳化收益来自于规划和设计阶段的决定。对潜在项目的前期选择对于碳排放问题至关重要,这包括考量是否需要建造新的隧道,以及在寻求新的建造方法之前先尝试升级或延长现有资产的使用寿命。

因此,关键差异在设计的早期阶段就已经产生了,而在隧道项目中,设计则可以最大程度地减少碳排放。凭借客户的领导力,这种设计层面的优势可以更容易地在隧道项目中实施,例如:采用激励采购方法,吸引主要承包商提供创新的碳减排工艺流程和材料,从而刺激更广泛的技术供应链。

喷射混凝土岩石支撑在全球范围内的明挖隧道施工中广泛使用,而且由于其高质量,在许多国家还被广泛用于永久性隧道衬砌,可节省20-25%的传统隧道衬砌系统中的混凝土用量。我相信,当今的现代喷射混凝土系统,与高水平的波特兰水泥替代物、聚合物纤维和创新的防水技术相结合,为我们的隧道衬砌提供了实现50%碳减排的潜在可能性。但是,这些“高明建造”解决方案必须在早期设计阶段就加以落实并实施,这样才能最大限度地提高碳减排潜力。这些都是真正的解决方案,可以带来实实在在的节约。此外,如今我们还可以通过正确的团队文化、适当的设计以及与令人振奋的新采购模式相配合来实现这些重大步骤。

附带说明,采用低碳喷射混凝土所面临的挑战,在于喷涂后的最初几小时内强度的增长较慢。早期强度增长对于架空层安全以及构建足够层厚方面的生产力至关重要。我们使用地质聚合物(不含波特兰水泥的混合料)进行的多项有趣研究表明,我们可以获得早期强度快速增长的超低碳混凝土,尽管我们仍需要继续就所需要的长期性能进行改进,以提升这些混合料的可行性。

为实现零碳隧道而采取的下一步行动,是在整个施工过程中做到超高效。

早期关注 - 与承包商和供应链在设计和合作方面建立战略伙伴关系。

低碳和超低碳喷射混凝土衬砌材料。新的加速器和膜是关键。

用于主要隧道直径的基于BEV的SC隧道挖掘设备系列。

验证设计的SC数字化。通过行业协作开发实时SmartScan和数字生态系统。

模拟器培训,EFNARC认证,持续改进,进一步发展计算机辅助喷射。

人力资源是低碳SCL隧道工程的关键。不能指望政府立法,方案运营商必须发挥带头作用。

需要一种整体性的隧道设计和施工方法来实现行业的去碳化。每个工艺步骤都为碳节约做出一份至关重要的贡献。

高效建造 - 智能设备、人员和数字化

想要解决主要排放源和去碳化问题需要多方努力,其中包括:转向可持续性采购、选择性地使用燃料、电动传动系统,以及转向绿色电力供应商为我们的隧道建设项目提供动力。

SmartDrive电池电动车是我们的可持续性产品当中的一个范例。SmartDrive具备更高的性能,实现了零本地排放,同时还消除了燃料成本和燃料运输成本,并且具有较低的设备维护成本。举例来说,通过使用SmartDrive Spraymec 8100SD喷射机器人,挪威的隧道承包商已经向2050年碳净零排放目标迈出了一大步,这种喷射机器人使用水力发电网产生的电力进行充电。除此之外,我们也开始在偏远的采矿项目中看到类似情况,在这些项目当中,基于矿山的可再生能源工厂为采矿设备车队提供电池充电电源。目标净零排放,为2050年做好准备。

减少碳排放的关键,是从现在开始测量并确定我们在隧道工程中的碳用量——我们需要创建一条基准线,以便以此为参考点来改善我们的策略。想要做到这一点,预计在喷射混凝土隧道施工领域将会发起一场数字革命。使用数据访问平台,从地下设备、配料厂等位置提取数据源,并且在挖掘中使用智能、实时的3D扫描系统支持机器人喷嘴操作员,帮助它们实现“一次性完成”喷射所需要的轮廓或厚度。这些系统还将支持工程师评估材料的使用、地质以及质量等等。从本质上讲,实时数字孪生系统对所有利益相关者都是非常有价值的,它将推动对碳减排和成本降低的日常审查,同时实现可控、安全的工艺流程。

我们的行业之中正逐渐建立起针对关键操作人员的虚拟现实培训平台。挪曼尔特的VR喷射混凝土模拟器获得了国际EFNARC C2认证计划的认可,是让喷嘴操作员在课堂环境中磨练技能的最新范例。这些模拟器鼓励安全、可持续的喷射方式,并且强调了需要改进的地方,有助于受训人员培养在真实地下空间所需要的正确态度和实践。

终生建造

我们的社会需要经久耐用而不是一次性的设施,在隧道使用寿命方面更是如此!挪曼尔特制造经久耐用的设备,我们尽可能地回收和重新利用组件及材料,用于制造新的设备和建筑材料。

此外,如果我们不必建造新隧道,我们可以使用远程、精确的结构评估工具,结合一系列智能修复技术和工艺流程来修复疲惫、陈旧的现有地下资产,使其获得更长的运营寿命。

最后,让我们共同推广低碳喷射混凝土技术的使用,建设更加可持续的基础设施,为我们当下乃至未来的社会创建美好的生活。伴随着人们对地下绿色能源储存计划重新激发的兴趣(例如抽水蓄能和未来的氢储存),结合能够永久连接起偏远社区的低成本隧道解决方案,我们可以期待看到更高的社会价值。

总而言之,不仅仅是低碳混凝土,为了加快去碳化工作,需要在各个方面做出多项努力。每一个人都有一些工作要做,让我们从现在开始,打造并拥有适合社会的“低碳”隧道。

简介

挪曼尔特隧道工程副总裁Ross Dimmock

Ross在英国与国际喷射混凝土隧道行业享有盛誉,他的从业经历始于英吉利海峡隧道的NATM部分。在那之后,Ross先后参与了莫特麦克唐纳公司Crossrail和Hindhead两项工程的设计工作。在此期间,他还曾在鲍佛贝蒂公司从事滑铁卢车站银禧线(Jubilee Line)的建设,并在MBT(后来的巴斯夫公司)担任全球技术负责人。在挪曼尔特工作的11年中,Ross曾担任过各种领导职务。现在,作为隧道工程部门的副总裁,Ross面临着为该行业开发可持续性低碳解决方案这一激动人心的挑战,他将利用自己33年的喷射混凝土隧道工程从业经验与热情来促进这场变革!

Ross Dimmock - 领英档案

订阅新闻简讯

Steps towards creating zero-carbon tunnels

Steps towards creating zero-carbon tunnels

Despite a daunting timeline set by the Paris Accord, zero-carbon tunnels are within reach if the right solutions are implemented.

The tunnelling industry is at a tipping point where sustainability and decarbonisation are at the top of executives’ agendas. To achieve a 1.5°c climate-change target by 2050, the tunnelling industry will need to reduce direct CO2 emissions to net zero.

Currently too few countries and infrastructure projects are “walking the talk” and taking the initiative to reduce carbon. Perhaps Norway is one country leading the way, and, as with their domestic electric vehicle market, electric drive construction equipment is increasingly employed, with major cities to have carbon neutral construction by 2025. Outside Norway, a few countries and projects in Europe for example, are establishing at least aspirational targets to reduce carbon, but typically only with the sole focus on developing low carbon concrete mixes.

The tunnelling industry is a contributor to global CO2 emissions and has a role to play in carbon reduction. The industry is facing increasing pressure from policy makers, investors, and customers to decarbonise operations.

Once the decision is taken to build a new tunnel, clever design followed by efficient construction focused on carbon will ultimately lead to lower project costs.

Whilst some believe low carbon tunnelling equates to higher project costs, currently best practice in carbon management in the construction industry suggests otherwise, and via a holistic approach throughout a project’s lifetime, with engineers focused on carbon saving, this intrinsically delivers an overall project cost saving too! This is certainly the ethos behind the standard PAS2080 to Carbon Management in Infrastructure and is well worth employing on projects for those keen on decarbonisation.

Given this growing ambition and need for decarbonisation, here are my five cents: three key aspects that would accelerate decarbonation efforts and make a considerable push forward to achieve the 1.5°C climate-change target ‒ Build clever, build efficiently, and build for a lifetime.

Build clever - It all starts with innovative and considerate design

The biggest decarbonisation gains in tunnels come from decisions at the planning and designs stages. Upfront choices for possible projects are crucial to the carbon story, including whether to build at all, or look to upgrade or extend the life of existing assets before pursuing a new build approach.

So, it is early in the design stage that the key differences are made, and in tunnels it is design where the largest proportion of savings in carbon can be made. Such design benefits can be more readily implemented on tunnel projects through client leadership, for example incentivising procurement approaches that attract main contractors to offer innovative carbon reducing processes and materials, that in turn stimulate the wider technical supply chain.

In open face tunnelling, sprayed concrete rock support is used globally, and in many countries in the world, given its high quality, has also been widely adopted for permanent tunnel linings, which save between 20-25% of the concrete used in conventional tunnel lining systems. I believe that modern sprayed concrete systems today, combining high levels of Portland Cement replacement, polymer fibres and innovative waterproofing technologies, offer possibilities to potentially achieve over 50% reduction in carbon in our tunnel linings. But again, these ‘Build Clever’ solutions must be captured and implemented at the early design stage to maximise the biggest carbon saving potential. These are real solutions to give real savings, and we can make these big steps today with the right team culture, the right design, and coupled to exciting new procurement models coercing positive things to happen.

As a side note, the challenge for the low carbon sprayed concrete is the slower strength gain in the first few hours after spraying. Early strength gain is vital for overhead safety and productivity in building thick enough layers. Interesting studies we have developed with geopolymers (mixes with no Portland cement) have shown we can obtain ultra-low carbon concrete with rapid early strength gain, although we continue to improve the needed long-term performance to make these mixes more viable.

The next step we can take towards carbon zero tunnels is to be super-efficient throughout the construction processes.

Early focus - strategic partnerships in design and collaboration with contractors and supply chain.

Low and ultra low carbon sprayed concrete lining materials. New accelerators and membranes are key.

BEV based range of SC tunnelling equipment for main tunnel diameters.

SC digitalisation to validate design. Develop realtime SmartScan and digital ecosystems through industry collaboration.

Simulator training, EFNARC accreditation, continual improvement, further develop computer aided spraying.

People are key to making low carbon SCL tunnelling work. It won't come from government legislation. Scheme operators must lead.

A holistic approach to tunnel design and construction is needed to decarbonise the industry. Each process step offers a crucial carbon saving component.

Build efficiently - Smart equipment, people and digitalisation

Multiple efforts will be required to address the principal sources of emissions and to decarbonise. Such actions include a move toward sustainable sourcing, selective use of fuels, electric drivetrains, as well as a switch to green electricity providers to power our tunnel construction projects.

An example of our sustainable offering is our SmartDrive battery electric vehicles. SmartDrive provides improved performance with zero local emissions. They also eliminate fuel and fuel transportation costs and have lower equipment maintenance costs. By way of example, Norwegian tunnel contractors are already operating to 2050 carbon net zero targets by using SmartDrive Spraymec 8100 SD spraying robots being charged up using hydropower grid electricity. We also starting to see this in remote mining projects where mine based renewable energy plants supply the battery charging power for the mining equipment fleet. This is net zero and 2050 ready.

Critical to carbon reduction is to start measuring and establishing our carbon usage in tunnelling projects today We need to create a baseline on which to benchmark so we have a reference point to improve our game. To do this I anticipate a digital revolution in sprayed concrete tunnelling, using data access platforms that pull in data sources from our underground equipment, batch plants etc, but also intelligent and real-time 3D scanning systems at the excavation face supporting robot nozzle operators “getting it right first time” when they can spray either to required profile or thickness. These systems will also support engineers to assess material usage, geology, and quality for instance. In essence a real-time digital twin will be highly valuable to all stakeholders and will drive the daily review of carbon and cost reduction, whilst attaining controlled, safe processes.

Virtual reality training platforms for key operators are becoming established in our industry and Normet’s VR Sprayed Concrete Simulator, endorsed by the international EFNARC C2 certification scheme, is the latest example allowing nozzle operators to hone their skills in the classroom environment. These simulators encourage safe, sustainable ways of spraying and highlight areas for improvements, contributing to these trainees developing the right attitudes and practices needed in the real underground space.

Build for a lifetime

We need to be less of a throwaway society, particularly even in our tunnelling life! Normet build equipment to last, and wherever we can we recycle and re-purpose components and materials to build new equipment and new construction materials.

Furthermore, when we don’t have to build new tunnels, we can offer ways to provide new operational life to tired and worn out existing underground assets using remote, accurate structure assessment tools, coupled with an array of smart rehabilitating technologies and processes.

Finally, let’s promote the use of low carbon sprayed concrete technologies to build more sustainable infrastructure to support a better life for our current and future societies. High societal value is already measurable with the re-invigorated interest in underground green energy storage schemes, such as with pumped hydro and prospective hydrogen storage, but also low project cost tunnel solutions to permanently connect our remote communities.

In a nutshell, multiple efforts on various fronts are needed to accelerate decarbonation efforts. It’s not just about low carbon concrete. We’ve all got some work to do, so let’s get to it and have fit, “low-carb” tunnels.

BIO

Ross Dimmock, Vice President for Tunnelling at Normet

Ross is well known to both the UK and international sprayed concrete tunnelling industry having started his journey on the NATM sections of the Channel Tunnel. There followed two separate episodes in Mott MacDonald working on Crossrail and Hindhead designs, between which he worked for Balfour Beatty on the construction of Waterloo Station Jubilee Line, and MBT later BASF as a global technical head. After 11 years with Normet in various lead roles, he now is the Vice President for Tunnelling, and has the exciting challenge to develop sustainable, low carbon solutions for the industry, pulling on his 33 years of sprayed concrete tunnelling passion and motivating change!

Ross Dimmock - Linkedin Profile

Subscribe to newsletter